collapse

www.dimecitycycles.com


www.restocycle.com

www.CITYLIMITMOTO.com

www.jadusmotorcycleparts.com

www.bisonmotorsports.com

www.speedmotoco.com

www.cognitomoto.com

www.townmoto.com

www.sparckmoto.com

www.Moto-Madness.com

www.pistonsociety.com

www.steeltowngarage.com

QUESTIONS ABOUT THE SITE? TROUBLE REGISTERING? ADMIN@DOTHETON.COM

Author Topic: Cams not getting oil  (Read 1771 times)

Offline Joseph New York

  • Posts: 90
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #30 on: May 29, 2017, 13:35:13 »
There should be an oil gallery plug screwed into bottom of right side crankcase. you can fit a pressure gauge there and see what pressure you really have.

I wish man, DOHCs don't have accessible oil galley ports like SOHC. I think I'm supposed to build my own L pipe fitted to a gauge and replace the oils pressure switch. I wasn't going to ask how can I get a pressure reading in this thread, but yeah, how do I get the pressure? The only tester I know of is OEM 07506-3000001 mentioned in the manual that but costs $300. Any aftermarket solutions out there?
« Last Edit: May 30, 2017, 05:13:35 by Joseph New York »
CB(500/4|650|750|750/DOHC)
Norton Atlas
Suzuki Savage bobber

Online crazypj

  • Posts: 12531
  • Split personality, I fake being smart
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #31 on: May 31, 2017, 16:40:13 »
The shop who told you 4~5 psi probably looked at " A "manual and only saw that's the switch pressure. In my opinion Honda did a real dumb thing and mounted oil pressure switch on outlet side of pump so oil light goes off as soon as engine starts to turn over. (and if oil light comes on when engine is running, it's already too late to do anything)
That's why I said to check at main oil gallery. I would just get a spare gallery plug (or a short bolt that fits) and drill/tap for a banjo fitting, there isn't any need for a $300.00 gauge as a normal cheapy one will work fine (even if not 100% accurate)
The gallery plug is a 'standard' Honda thread so picking on up from crashed/destroyed motor shouldn't be too difficult
 I did buy genuine Honda vacuum gauge set though  - in 1978 it cost almost 3 weeks wages but still works fine today so guess the extra quality was worth it (the 'new' mechanical ones were no better than any aftermarket set  ;D )
'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'
I gave my girlfriend an orgasm the other night, but, she spat it back at me

CB360's,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11736.0
XS650,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11922.0

Offline Joseph New York

  • Posts: 90
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #32 on: Jun 01, 2017, 15:35:36 »
The shop who told you 4~5 psi probably looked at " A "manual and only saw that's the switch pressure. In my opinion Honda did a real dumb thing and mounted oil pressure switch on outlet side of pump so oil light goes off as soon as engine starts to turn over. (and if oil light comes on when engine is running, it's already too late to do anything)
That's why I said to check at main oil gallery. I would just get a spare gallery plug (or a short bolt that fits) and drill/tap for a banjo fitting, there isn't any need for a $300.00 gauge as a normal cheapy one will work fine (even if not 100% accurate)
The gallery plug is a 'standard' Honda thread so picking on up from crashed/destroyed motor shouldn't be too difficult
 I did buy genuine Honda vacuum gauge set though  - in 1978 it cost almost 3 weeks wages but still works fine today so guess the extra quality was worth it (the 'new' mechanical ones were no better than any aftermarket set  ;D )

Cool, so you are suggesting I tap my own oil galley port like the SOHC bikes have and screw in a guage. I could do it, I've seen it done before on an SOHC to to relocate it further in.

Did you say you knew of a cheaper aftermarket guage that I could test the pressure at the switch port?  If so I may start there before tapping it. I can only find OEM NOS.

I was also thinking about tapping into the oil line that feeds up from the case to the valves, externally. Would that be a possible place of getting a reading? Could possibly get put in a T pipe.

Thanks
CB(500/4|650|750|750/DOHC)
Norton Atlas
Suzuki Savage bobber



Online crazypj

  • Posts: 12531
  • Split personality, I fake being smart
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #35 on: Jun 02, 2017, 16:20:47 »
I think the pressure switch is a 1/8" BSP taper thread?
You should be able to rig something up for less than $50.00. Probably not a good idea to have it permanently fitted, the pressure variations can be frightening (even though it's normal running condition)
I just had to dig out manual as I've been confusing myself with the oil passages. Isn't it possible to remove the gallery plug on top right side then fit a banjo bolt there? (similar to SOHC placement although 'hidden' behind alternator cover)
If you replaced the line with an Aeroquip (or similar) stainless one you could have that Summit gauge permanently mounted.
For $25.00, can't go wrong  8)
« Last Edit: Jun 02, 2017, 16:23:02 by crazypj »
'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'
I gave my girlfriend an orgasm the other night, but, she spat it back at me

CB360's,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11736.0
XS650,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11922.0

Offline Joseph New York

  • Posts: 90
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #36 on: Jun 09, 2017, 00:33:33 »
I think the pressure switch is a 1/8" BSP taper thread?
You should be able to rig something up for less than $50.00. Probably not a good idea to have it permanently fitted, the pressure variations can be frightening (even though it's normal running condition)
I just had to dig out manual as I've been confusing myself with the oil passages. Isn't it possible to remove the gallery plug on top right side then fit a banjo bolt there? (similar to SOHC placement although 'hidden' behind alternator cover)
If you replaced the line with an Aeroquip (or similar) stainless one you could have that Summit gauge permanently mounted.
For $25.00, can't go wrong  8)

I didn't know about a galley port other than the oil switch? I'll look into it! It's strange that my manual wants us to check at the switch port..

Hopefully I can use the banjo bolt and guage somewhere, and if I find the port under the alt cover, I'll work on building a permanent one. Thanks
CB(500/4|650|750|750/DOHC)
Norton Atlas
Suzuki Savage bobber

Online crazypj

  • Posts: 12531
  • Split personality, I fake being smart
Re: Cams not getting oil
« Reply #37 on: Jun 09, 2017, 15:38:01 »
I think the plug behind alternator cover is 14mm or 16mm thread with a 14mm head. You must use a 6 point socket or it will round over (way too long since I looked inside to remember)
'you can take my word for it or argue until you find out I'm right'
I gave my girlfriend an orgasm the other night, but, she spat it back at me

CB360's,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11736.0
XS650,  http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=11922.0