First time cb400 Project

sxecafe

You think the Carpet Pissers did this?
I’m new to bikes. I got a license in Dec of '07 and purchased my first banger two weeks ago. I bought this MF'er for $875.00. It was running and braking well except it had fuel spilling from the carb over flow tube. My guess it was ‘cause the floats and needles were rusted up from the 1/8" of rust I found in the tank. I have already torn it apart in the hopes of giving it some sweet style. Now I’m waiting for parts to come in. If I can stay under 2K with out tearing the engine apart I will be pretty happy for my first bike. If this is something I like as much as I think I will, then once this one is finished and I have a few thousand miles under my ass then I want to rebuild an older 550 from the ground up. Here is what I have done so far:

Here it is when I got it home:
IMG_0135.jpg

Some sweet electrical tape grips... You can pick them up at your local bike shop
IMG_0144.jpg

I took the front can off to put on new indicators. There are low rise bars, new grips, bar end mirror on there.
IMG_0166.jpg

No Tank or ugly seat after the first mods...
IMG_0162.jpg

Stripping the tank:
IMG_0167.jpg

IMG_0172.jpg

IMG_0171.jpg

After some 400grit:
IMG_0173.jpg

I have cleaned out the tank with Rudy's Zep's Lime, Calcium and Rust remover trick and it worked wonders. Now I'm waiting for new mini gauges, a new tail light, and carb rebuild kits. I want to reshape the seat to make is smaller, modify the brakes (either dual disk or just change to a dual piston caliper with new lines and pads) and paint it. After that it should be a sweet whip to move around town and get to work in. Let me know what you think and Ill keep you posted on the progress.

a sweeter ride than the Ferrari behind it in the garage? ;D

What's the name of the paint stripper you used on the tank?

Ya... My pops has a 360. I couldnt really get that out of the pic.