CB450 Café Racer Build. IT'S A ROLLER

jrknecht

What about What?
Okay all so this is the start :p , haha. I have picked up two CB450s a '72 and a '73. The 72 has a title but is in really poor shape and the 73 has a freshly rebuilt engine but it caught fire on start-up (dont ask me how :eek: ) and so all the plastics got burned including the wiring harness. The engine though is in great shape. This is My first build so I am looking for all the help and support I can get.

5408331411_41bf2072f7_z.jpg

5408937028_1d0ba9298a_z.jpg

5408939042_03de267923_z.jpg

5408937736_d81405be4b_z.jpg

stripped down the frame,
5408955096_1282487c39_z.jpg

Then had it sand blasted, looks really good ;D
5408347207_b81a9155d4_z.jpg

Yesterday I worked on the carbs, cleaning them
BEFORE
5408946972_f855362d42_z.jpg

5408947638_44297582d3_z.jpg

5408339419_ed7ece3870_z.jpg

AFTER
5408944794_13ed27a1ce_z.jpg

5408948416_db600b1d59_z.jpg

Still need some polishing ;) but getting there.
Here is a mock-up of the bike I am looking to build.
5408351217_b2d97220f3_b.jpg

Re: CB450 Café Racer Build. FIRST TIME BUILDER

Good progress so far. How much are you planning on buying and how much are you planning to fabricate for yourself? The tank, for instance?

Sonreir said:
Good progress so far. How much are you planning on buying and how much are you planning to fabricate for yourself? The tank, for instance?

since this is my first build I am going to try to do as much of the fab work as I can but it will most likely just be alot of the small things, like mounts and housings. I am learning to weld now though.

Welcome to the site from another first timer. I like your mockup. Looking forward to more pictures.

I used to work for a Knecht's Auto Parts when I was in high school. I hadn't seen that name before or since.

IndieSol said:
I used to work for a Knecht's Auto Parts when I was in high school. I hadn't seen that name before or since.