2002 Honda CBR F2 front end swap

djmaynard

Been Around the Block
I came across a parts bike that I’d like to tear off and use on one of my other Honda’s. I’ve never done before nor attempted but wondering if it’s easy as I imagine. Frame is in decent shape but before I tear it all apart wasn’t sure what I was getting into. I know nothing about how to figure the rake and such but heard Honda to Honda is easier.

I have a 1982 Honda CB900C and also 77 Honda CB750K. Be willing to use either bike just wanted the better fit.

Or try to save the CBR?

Any help would be appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using DO THE TON

Attachments

• IMG_1566.JPG
    IMG_1566.JPG
    101.6 KB · Views: 256
  • IMG_2786.JPG
    IMG_2786.JPG
    378.1 KB · Views: 259
  • IMG_2554.JPG
    IMG_2554.JPG
    435.4 KB · Views: 263
Re: 2002 Honda CBR F2 front end swap

It's not bad. The biggest thing is making sure you get the suspension geometry correct. Such as trail and that. The triple offset is alot less on the CBR will be put your trail at a bad place

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So where do I start? Tried searching YouTube with no real explanation.

1fasgsxr said:
Having custom trees made for the f2 forks?

I don’t know, sorry I will admit I am a novice but love to learn. If needed I will but if it doesn’t throw things off too much no.

innovativems said:
It's not bad. The biggest thing is making sure you get the suspension geometry correct. Such as trail and that. The triple offset is alot less on the CBR will be put your trail at a bad place

Less offset = more trail which might make the bike steering a little heavy, but should be stable.

hillsy said:
Have a look over here:

http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=20951.0

From what I can gather the CBR and your 900c run the same steering bearings so you can direct swap the entire CBR front end into the 900c.

Better brakes, tyre choice, etc right there.

Rear wheel will probably slot in as well with minimal mods.