XV920 build or affectionately Super Advanced Life-Threatening Lego (Y)Project

dirtyhands

Hello everyone, new guy here.

I've been trolling the site for a while sponging information like a leech without returning the favor. My initial plan was to not do a build thread until I had all the pieces sorted out, and then was going to only document the final assembly. I was going to choose this method purely on the basis that it was less pressure on me to take pictures of things that may not even be relevant, less pressure on me to deliver consistent updates. Also, to possibly save my foolish face from proving to everyone with photo evidence, that I have no idea what I am doing, that I don't even know how to ride a motorcycle, but that if I am going to hurt myself on one, it will be the one that I made.

So let me provide myself a small amount of credit and say that I am not a stranger to building things with tires. I was a car mechanic for ten years, restored and modified older model cars in a semi-employed status for 6 of those years, and have consistently been gear-headed since I was small.

I would like to extend a quick thank you to some of the members whose 'activities' have inspired me to accumulate the mess I have gathered, paved the way, and provided the direction I have taken with this thing.
Sqiurlley, Swapmeetlouis(sp?), Turbodog, Swagger, loekm, knifemaker87, The Red Wonder, Pacomotorstuff(sp?) Beachcomber, Biker reject Mjpriceisright, Rich Ard, Tim (mod), that nay-sayer Swivel, and sighboysigh (for his oh-my-god-what-the-f***-shut-the-f***-up-I-think-he-might-be-on-to-something-no-i-was-wrong) and a bunch of others whose names are escaping me. Chances are, if you've done what I have done to a motorcycle, especially an early XV and posted it on Dotheton, I've read it, and copied it. Thank you.