Kick start shaft Help please

plyzo

1970 Honda CL 350
I am not sure what this problem could be other than it might be the actual gears inside that are stripped. Check out this video of mine showing the problem. Basically when I turn the kick start shaft quickly it just slips but when I go slow it works.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn7b2yqTRj4

Do I have to split the case in order to fix this problem? I have never done it before so worried its going to be a nightmare.

This is just an educated guess, but you can hear the clutch teeth clicking back when you return the lever to the start position and it does work, albeit only when you turn it slowly, so that indicates that the clutch teeth are fine. There's a spring that keeps the clutch teeth enmeshed and it sounds like that spring is either broken or very week. The spring I'm talking about is #4 on this fiche:

http://www.servicehondapsn.com/fiche_section_detail.asp?section=2448849&category=Motorcycles&make=Honda&year=1970&fveh=131031

The bad news is that you'll have to split the case to get to it, and the part is no longer available from Honda.

Ya in neutral and hand off the clutch. Sounds like i just need to take this engine apart. I am need to work on the top end so might as well split the case.

Thanks for the feedback guys.

While this is a CB360 in the pick, the kick start is similar.

There is a spring a washer that provides friction....When the shaft is rotated, it causes the piece with the teeth to engage to other teeth. Since when you go slow, it engages, it is likely not the teeth, but the spring and washers that resist rotation so the pawl engages.......though I wouldn't rule the teeth being damages either.

Attachments

• Kick Starter Pawl.jpg
    Kick Starter Pawl.jpg
    375.5 KB · Views: 171