How to be safe/visible (and look cool doing it)?

andrew embassy

Been Around the Block
So I'm new to riding and as I'm telling friends and family that I'm buying a bike (which is actually primarily for moral/environmental/energy consumption reasons) I'm getting DOUSED with conversations like this:

me: "Hey, I've found a bike I think I'm going to get. It's a 1974 CB450."
friend: "my friend's friend [DIED / WAS PARALYZED / FELL OFF / WRECKED] their motorcycle!"
me: "yes, I know they can be dangerous, but I'm not a thrill seeker, and I'll have my car for when it rains too hard, etc..."
friend: "yeah, but those things are DANGEROUS!"

And ad nauseum.

So, I've pretty much given up trying to convince my friends and family that I'm going to be safe, but at the same time, I do want to be safe - or as safe as I can be.

To that end, what do you guys do to be safe? Obviously not riding like an idiot is one thing, but it seems that the biggest threat is cars, not seeing/ignoring you. What do you do to make sure you're seen? And how do you do it without looking like a goon?

I've decided I want a full-face helmet; does anybody have suggestions for vintage-y styled full face?

I'm also looking at spinal protection - is there stuff out there that could fit under a jacket? Like maybe sewn in or something?

Also, hi - I'm new here.

welcome :) i have a 1972 cb450 and love it, even though i have not gotten to ride it yet, winter project and its not done yet, but does run ;D

be prepared to get the "motorcycles are dangerous" every time you talk to a Dr. or nurse too, and when you talk to someone who doesnt ride motorcycles, yes they are dangerous obviously but thats half the fun ;D

as for gear, for a full face helmet/lid i wear an icon helmet i got from newenough.com it doesnt look very cafe racer like but i dont care, it cost me less than $100 :) for old skool cafe full face helmets look into finding a simpson bandit helmet