'78 KZ400

alemonkey

I've never built a bike before but always wanted a cafe, so when a friend of mine offered up a '78 KZ400 I jumped on it. He bought it on auction a while back but never got around to fixing it up. It's dirty but it runs and was in decent shape. Everything is straight, the mufflers have been replaced by aftermarket ones and the tank appears to be a NOS replacement. It looks like it probably sat in a barn for the last 30 years or so until someone dug it out and tried to get it running. Only 3900 miles! Tires are brand new also, still have the nubs.

a3EhqwV.jpg

Hopefully I can recover a little cash by selling off the seat, side covers, luggage rack, etc. One of the saddlebags has a hole (although I have the piece and it could be repaired).

To be a little different I decided to go with a single carb intake from 11th Hour Industries and a Mikuni VM34. So I'll be trying to sell the factory carbs and airbox, also. One weird thing is that even though this is titled as a '78 it's actually a '77 frame and motor and was built in September of '77. The pre-78 frames have a center post right behind the motor, so a single carb intake for those frames has to exit out to the side instead of straight back.

Started tear down. I'm hoping to get everything fabricated and have a rideable but not finished bike some time next summer...then next winter hopefully take it down to the bare frame.

Test fitting a rear hoop.

A1ASew8.jpg

Mikuni VM34 mounted. Waiting on a new petcock for the tank before I try to fire it up.

y2cC7H7.jpg

Cut a bunch of brackets off the frame today, welded on the rear hoop, and ordered a Mac 2 into 1 exhaust. Petcock still isn't here. Once that shows up I'll try to get it running with the Mikuni, but since the exhaust is going to be changed I won't worry about tuning it yet.