Tachometer installation

café (r)acer

Hey guys,

I'm gonna put a tachometer on my ace, but I have never done this before.
I will probably be doing at school, I'm studying to become a car mechanic.
I've got the wiring diagram and I have seen all the bunched up wires under the tank, I'm just not sure where to connect the tachometer to.
Does anybody know?

the tacho feed on my acewell just piggy backed onto the positive lead going to the coil (in the frame at the front under the tank)

What make is the tachometer? There a several places to pick up the signal, the coil positive is probably the most convenient.

Crazy

They are supposed to give maximum torque at 7500 and maximum power at 8500 so I don't think you would have much of anything past 10 grand!

Pushrod motors like the 'Ace' are not really suitable for pushing to stratospheric revs, a DOHC motor would be better for that.

The fattest mid-range you can achieve really enhances the riding pleasure of our "post-performance era" bikes.

Crazy

Hey crazy ... was looking at fitting this on my bike, presumably it's an easy install ? ... any tips ?

Cheers,
Haz

Attachments

• 2712659265604040_4.jpg
    2712659265604040_4.jpg
    9.5 KB · Views: 2,072
Hazza00 said:
Hey crazy ... was looking at fitting this on my bike, presumably it's an easy install ? ... any tips ?

Cheers,
Haz

That's the one I bought.
Will post the circuit diagram tomorrow, I left it at school.

café (r)acer said:
That's the one I bought.

... thanks ! ... btw, did it install OK? It was a cheap unit. Presumably it fit easily on the LHS of the non-speedo unit?

Haz

café (r)acer said:
That's the one I bought.

Hi there - my tacho arrived, but no circuit diagram !! - any idea on what wires go where ?!!! (if you have the circuit diagram handy, it will be very much appreciated ...

Haz

Hazza00 said: