125cc to 250cc conversion

Muncy

Hey fellow Ace owners,

As the topic says, I have decided to swap out the 125cc motor for a 250cc version.
I fell in love with the look of the Ace 125 and knew I had to have one. Coming from 600 supersports bikes I found the bike lacking in horse and stopping power. But the style and feel of the bike made it a project I was keen to do. I rode the Ace home (17km) and tore her down to her bare bones.
I have a bit of mechanical skill such as servicing my bikes and rebuilding the left hand side of my CBR after an accident. But other than that I have limited mechanical knowledge. The Ace resource topic on DTT has been a great help and appreciate anyone who posts in there.
Hopefully I'll be able to do the same and help you guys out, but for now here is my project. Cheers Trav

Here are my bikes. 2003 Honda CBR600RR, 2013 Ace 125, 2008 Suzuki GSXR600
4vojlz.jpg

After much research and excitement I purchased a OHC 250cc vertical cylinder engine. I know a lot of you guys have gone for the ooracing big bore kit, but the value for money and power for that matter was a better option/choice for me. (This may bite me in the bum if I come along any difficulties... but fingers crossed). I'm excited to work on resolving any issues and if it costs me a bit more so be it. It's all about learning and the journey for me.
Here is the engine I bought. It was a black version as no silver was in stock. No biggy.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/250cc-Zongshen-OHC-engine-motor-motorbike-motorcycle-/260874027190?pt=AU_Motorcycle_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cbd4dc0b6&_uhb=1

I began to tear down the Ace and found that the bolts/screws/etc were all pretty secure and that everything was tight. (Have heard of screws and what not falling off fellow members bikes).