1980 CM400 engine swap/wiring help

HoldFastHope

Hello all!

I'm new to this so bear with me...

I have a 1980 Honda CM400T. While driving on the highway, a gasket blew and I lost all of my oil and the transmission seized. My more mechanically-minded friend recommended that it might just be easier for me (at my beginning-level of bike maintainer/tinkerer) to swap out the engine with one from a similar make/model rather than rebuilding the lower portion of the engine.
So...
I found a 1980 CM400A engine with <10K on it. I swapped it out, plugged it in (all the connectors fit perfectly) and tried to start it up...
Well, the starter turns and I have compression, but no spark. My mechanical buddy tells me that the signal from the alternator providing timing to the spark plugs is not happening.

Please help this noob with a voltmeter and an extremely basic knowledge of electrical systems and a broken brat bike.

Thank you!

-HoldFast

Here is the wiring diagram I found for the 400A (top one) and the T (bottom one)

Attachments

• CM400A.jpg
    CM400A.jpg
    158.2 KB · Views: 2,821
  • CM400T.jpg
    CM400T.jpg
    149.4 KB · Views: 3,219
Talked to the Honda motorcycle dealership today. Looks like I will need a new CDI. Will I need to install a kickstand switch and changing relay though? Or can that be bypassed? Does anybody know if a CDI from a CB400a would work on this bike?

Sorry - lots of questions...

CDI from the CM400 and CM450 are the same, as is the CB400T and (I think?) the 450 Nighthawk. There's a guy on eBay who sells replacement boxes for a reasonable price, too.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/192182173867

Clutch and sidestand safety switches can both be bypassed easily. Locate the green/red wire coming from the solenoid and run it directly to ground.

" data-source="" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Sonreir said: