Project name: Smokin Jack? CB750F build

hapakev

This is my first project and first post on this forum. My ride is a 1978 CB750F, that I bought non-running, missing the whole rearend and all the lights. I got it all for the low, low price of $420 and a bottle of Gentleman Jack.

I found out the motor needed gaskets, rings, seals, top end rebuild and was a b!tch to get parts for. So, I pulled the motor and aquired a 73 CB750 motor. I rebuilt that motor with gaskets, HD studs, new seals, a valve job and a ring and hone job. Then found the case cracked/sealed with JB weld behind the drive sprocket. Damnit!!

I bought a non-titled 76 CB750F with 9k miles. Pulled the motor, carbs, seat, rear wheel and gauges for my bike. I still have most of the rest of that bike. I also found a 77 GL1000 roller that i robbed the wheels from. I'm in the middle of rebuilding the 76F lowerend with new seals, the internals look brand new including the cam chain guides. Im gonna switch over the HD studs, rings and 73 top end. The 76F top end will sit on the couch until I get around to sprucing it up.

I rebuilt the brakes, the front forks with progressive springs, put progressive shocks on the rear, superbike bars up front. I chopped up a stock seat pan, narrowed it and finished the rearend. I have a stock set pan thats waiting to be shortened and upholstered, a GL1000 front end and 76F rear wheel waiting to be swapped in and some other little cafe bits that are waiting in the wings.

Heres how it sits now, (pretty much)

100_1062.jpg

Re: Project name: Smokin Jack?

Great job. I really like the lines of that bike. That may be something I look into in the future :)

Before

IMG_0120.jpg

After

IMG_0253.jpg

A step in the right direction. More to come.

Made a little progress today, while the baby and wife were napping.

IMG_0263.jpg

May I ask how you installed a spoke wheel with the rear disc brakes? I was thinking of doing the same with my '78