'74 CB360 cafe project - (New clutch springs and back to analog gauges.)

3DogNate

"You Meet the Nicest People on a Honda"
Almost Complete: 11/26
P1010707.jpg

P1010708.jpg

I picked up this pretty well stock 1974 CB360 today and brought it home. It runs, albeit not great, but it'll start first kick (starter works but wire is not attached, so it's kicks-ville until I sort that out. Runs pretty smooth until 4500 rpm or so and then the left cylinder starts running a bit rough... I'm pretty new to these vintage Japanese bikes so I'm sure I'll need some advice and guidance.

IMAG0392.jpg

IMAG0396.jpg

IMAG0397.jpg

IMAG0394.jpg

And I got a spare motor for parts with it. (Siezed)

IMAG0393.jpg

I need to start working on my plan of attack on disassembling and modifying. I'm contemplating on whether or not to just start rebuilding the top end when I pull the engine to clean up the frame. I'll need some recommendation on the best way to deal with the carbs... I'm for sure going to rebuild them,(or have it done.)

That's all for tonight.
Nate

Re: '74 CB360 cafe project

Nice bike, man. It looks to be in pretty good nick.

If one (or both) cylinders are cutting out around the 5000 RPM mark, it's usually a timing issue, but could also be carb related. Timing is pretty each to check, though, especially if you have a timing light. You do have or are planning to get a timing light, right?

I'm gonna put my money down on a frozen/stuck advancer. Let us know how you get on.

-Sonny

Re: Re: '74 CB360 cafe project

Sonreir said:
You do have or are planning to get a timing light, right?

I'm gonna put my money down on a frozen/stuck advancer. Let us know how you get on.

-Sonny

I do not have a timing light. But that's easily obtainable. I can try to set static timing to get validate that timing is the issue or not before I start disassembling.