SR500 Build... Almost there!

gray

Hey guys, I'm new to the ton and I thought I would start a little thread before I finished this thing. This forum has been a tremendous inspiration, thank you guys.

A couple months ago I drove from Orange County to LA to pick up a nice '79 SR500. WHILE I was giving it a test ride around the block, something shot through the engine case, leaving a clean, open hole. SHIT! I totally wanted this bike, so I was about as bummed as the guy selling it. We said sorry, no deal (at this point I was not interested in doing a rebuild) and drove back home.

I couldn't stop thinking about that bike.

A week later I contacted the seller again. He still had it, we haggled on price for a little, and ended up settling somewhere around half of what he was originally asking, seeing as I would most likely have to rebuild the engine. I was stoked.

We picked it up two days later:
1329590789683.jpg

1329590796716.jpg

1329596092883.jpg

I still had to figure out what shot through the case and why. So the engine came out. Once I got the clutch cover off the issue was easy to see. There is a ratchet guide at the back of the kick start assembly. Apparently it is not uncommon for these things to fail, and in my case, the broken piece just happened to catch a tooth on the starter, propelling it through the back of the engine.

IMG_0068-1.jpg

IMG_0067-1.jpg

EASY FIX!! I ordered a replacement for the broken part and had the case welded! Engine rebuild averted.

1330710561883.jpg

1330712020318.jpg

A little paint and polish:
1331422184764.jpg

Then tires finally came:
2012-03-16_18-46-41_161.jpg

(Imagine a lot more painting, polishing, wire wheeling, parts ordering, late nights in the garage, complaining neighbors, and more parts ordering)

So that pretty much gets me to where I am now.

From the other night:
IMG_6194.jpg

IMG_6188.jpg

My buddy Brandon giving me a hand
IMG_6146.jpg

IMG_6180.jpg

IMG_6203.jpg

IMG_6199.jpg

IMG_6208.jpg