how many people can i get to call me crazy?

XsjadoTwin

Been Around the Block
So I have an itching to attempt to make a fiberglass tank... Using the underside of a cl360 tank as a mold. I have some experience with a fiberglass (many many years experience with industrial air/watertight epoxy applications) so I know what it takes to make something hold whatevernit needs to hold. My only issue is strength. Especially in the front of the tank (most susceptible to rocks and debris)

How crazy am I?

If you answered not that that crazy, awesome. Next question

How would I go about really strengthening the fiberglass itself in the parts of the tank most susceptible to impact?

I know this will end up being a very very time consuming process but, I am after a very unique look and really like learning from experience (trial and error) plus I have some old man help from some guys who've taken a liking to seeing a vintage bike on the block.

Well for a few reasons, first and formost I had no idea I could do carbon fiber at home? 2) I know where to get fiberglass cloth and resin, I have no idea where to get materials for CF. And 3) to my understanding you(which is ignorant at best) id need a vaccum press, I dont have a vaccum press but as far as I know they aren't too difficult to build. Anyone here have any experience working with carbon fiber? And probablynmore importantly anyone have any advice for a first time carbon fiber'er?