"Kafe" out of the Box? 1982 GSX-1000 Katana

Deavastation

Hey guys, I am new here. Finally getting some time to make a project thread. I am a student working on my masters in Biology at a well known university in the midwest, and recently made the decision that I'd like to attend medical school in the near future. I love vintage motorcycles and not quite "vintage" yet, Euros.

Recently picked up a 1982 Katana GSX-1000 with around 5,XXX original miles. I love the cafe movement, yet I don't think I could ever bring myself to do a "true" cafe build to this motorcycle. I have thrown around the idea of doing a "RatKat," making it look a little rustic and give it some character one wouldn't normally find with one of these motorcycles. And then another little devil over my shoulder is telling me to do beefy forks, modern swing arm and wheels, etc. I have two tanks, the original has just been re-painted and looks fantastic. The spare tank would be the one to do up in a "rat-kat" fashion. Not quite sure yet. Very conflicted.

Not sure what is done to the motor specifically, or if anything at all, it is a little faster than my 916 and rips wheelies in mid to top range in first (no clutch). Not sure if this could just be due to the weight saved from the stock exhaust? Shouldn't be.... Besides the V/H exhaust, there is a stage III dyno jet kit in it.

;D

Here she is:

Attachments

• KatanaGSX1.jpg
    KatanaGSX1.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 1,379
  • KatanaGSX2.jpg
    KatanaGSX2.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 1,438
  • KatanaGSX3.jpg
    KatanaGSX3.jpg
    86.6 KB · Views: 331
  • KatanaGSX5.jpg
    KatanaGSX5.jpg
    57.6 KB · Views: 1,679
  • KatanaGSX6.jpg
    KatanaGSX6.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 1,694
  • KatanaGSX7.jpg
    KatanaGSX7.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 1,773
  • KatanaGSX8.jpg
    KatanaGSX8.jpg
    85.8 KB · Views: 358
Re: "Kafe" out of the Box? 1982 GSX-1000 Katana

If it was mine I'd leave bone stock. Clean "Katunas" are far and few.

XVRacer said: