wiring through my new handlebars

rphilli550

Been Around the Block
so i recieved a set of clubmans from another member and now i cant figure out how to go about wiring everything through them. my stock handlebars have a hole in the center cut out for all the wires to travel through but the new bars do not. what should i do?

Drill a hole?

Seriously... if it's only electrical you will likely need to lengthen the wiring to make it through the bars.

If there are cables running through the bars then they will probably bind in the tight bends of the clubmans.

so i have to lengthen the wires?

im totally new to all of this so any info would be greatly appreciated.

All depends on the bars you had on before. If the stockers were as long or longer from the ends to the hole then you're ok... if they're shorter then the wiring from the hand controls will likely not reach anymore.

But duplicating the holes in the bars is easy with a step drill bit and a drill press (hand drill is possible with a vise and a steady hand).

Post a pic of the current bars and the clubmans.

Nope - so here's the deal.

Your old Honda bars were set up for internal wiring. Your clubmans aren't. The control pods where all the wires originate are likely not 'notched' to allow the wiring to run externally. If either is, it will likely be the right side (with the starter button).

So, you have 2 choices. If your clubman bars (pics please) are not closed at the end of the tubes you mount the controls to, you can drill holes just like the ones on your old bars. Takes a bit of work and make sure you file them smooth after.

Or, you can dremel notches into the housings of the controls, so the wiring can simply run externally ziptied to the bars. If the controls are a little old and not mint condition, I'd go this route.

You don't need to lengthen the wires.

alright i understand now.

pics

clubs.jpg

clubs1.jpg

clubs2.jpg

clubs3.jpg