Well now I have really done it...

Szeigler

SO I picked up this 1975 cb550f as my next project and now it is sitting in my garage. I am planning to build it up as original but with some of the cafe sensibility. the first task is going to be getting that lump unstuck. I believe the culprit is years of storage without being run.Possible covalent bonding between the steel rings and the aluminum cylinder. SONIC was kind enough to share the link to the repair manual for the bike. I have managed to get a key cut using the seat lock code which does operate everything accordingly. I have also picked up a battery and have been trickle charging it. My plan of attack is to check the electrics out with the exception of the starter using the battery so that I can define any needs there. Any advice is welcome. I am new to motorcycles, and while I am not overwhelmed yet, I do want to be successful with minimal frustration.

cheers,
SZ

Attachments

• index.jpg
    index.jpg
    23.4 KB · Views: 1,044
Looks like a fairly complete example, if a bit the worse for wear.

You are correct in your approach so far. DON"T disassemble just yet.
Take some time to figure out exactly what the current state of affairs is BEFORE you bag and tag it all.

Patience and organization is key. Once you start the disassembly, take LOTS of pictures.

Keep the pictures coming, and best of luck!

The cylinders aren't aluminum. They have steel linings, so if any water got in the cylinders, they may be rusted. There's plenty of threads on here about freeing up a stuck engine.

More good news... It shifts through all the gears. Of course clutch is engaged... That might be bad.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I wouldn't do anything until you free up those cylinders, or figure on a top-end (at least) rebuild, and decide if that's worth it to you.