82 GL1100 Rat

NakedWing82

First Bike, First Wing, First Custom
Hey all, brand new to the site. Have done a lot of reading here but first day registered. I am doing a low budget 82 Gl1100 and shooting for a cafe "look" but I love the raw feel of a "rat bike." I traded a shotgun for the bike that has 73k miles on it, running and drivable from day 1. The gun was a gifrt so $0 invested. I have done what mechanically I am capable of (with the help of the DTT forums) like cleaning carbs and disassembling the bike, i.e. taking all the stuff off that I didn't want. Yesterday the Jardines came off and were replaced with a couple mainstream auto store tips. I am a salesman in a Motorcycle/ATV/UTV shop so I obviously love my discount. Next step is drag bars and new grips.....

Attachments

• photo 1.JPG
    photo 1.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 450
  • photo 6.jpg
    photo 6.jpg
    2.5 MB · Views: 521
  • photo 8.jpg
    photo 8.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 390
  • photo 12.jpg
    photo 12.jpg
    892 KB · Views: 395
  • photo 16.jpg
    photo 16.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 423
nice job they are a good looking bike once you strip the mountain of junk off

pm me if you want to sell the mufflers you took off i could use them

thanx CX. Its an ongoing project but I keep putting it back together after each step because the weather is so beautiful I wanna ride it to work every day. It also gets better mileage than my F150...... and I am not a rich man so every bit helps

sitting outside the shop today, newest pic... my effing brake light loosened up on the ride in and dropped onto the rear tire, breaking the plastic..... totally getting some red tape till I can buy an LED setup for the rear

Attachments

• photo 18.jpg
    photo 18.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 368
I was wondering if anyone knows some rear shocks that bolt in to replace the stock air set up and lower the tail a little. i swear it seems like there's 10 feet between the frame and the top of the tire. Thanx in advance.