New DTT member 360T build

kagraves

Been Around the Block
Hey everyone, I am new to the motorcycle forum and wanted to let people see my build and to get some advice.

I just finished rebuilding my stepfathers 1977 CB750K and sold it to buy my first bike. Before the 750 I had no knowledge of motorcycle mechanics but did a complete engine teardown to solve a seized piston problem. got the bike running not perfect but sold it as a project for a very fair price, probably should have been asking more but I got hasty. purchased my bike a 1976 Honda CB360T the morning that the 750 was being picked up.

20r8ke9.jpg

2jer3sy.jpg

I purchased the bike not running (only thing I can afford and then I could tinker with it). the bike is in great shape has 9,xxx miles and very little rust (only under fenders and a little pitting on wheels). the 750 had 45,xxx miles and quite a bit of rust. the bike has been sitting since 07' in the sellers garage under a cover.

I tried some gas and a new battery but it wouldn't start, :eek: SHOCKER!

took the carbs apart and found one carb completely dry and the other had a damaged float valve. the fuel line was gummed up in the dry carb and ordering new float valves.

tank is a little dusty inside (light rust dust??) comes off when i wiped it. I plan on cleaning out with baking soda and vinegar heard that worked well for others. and take the petcock apart to clean out. and get clear fuel lines and inline filters to keep deposits out of carbs.

Still need to figure out why it won't run, but one thing at a time

You're in the right place for support. Welcome aboard.

Where's PJ? Usually he sniffs out carb issues on a 360, before the owner even asks.

Just got the float valves in the mail today and installed them.

bought 3 gallons of Vinegar to fill the tank to remove the rust. (worked ok, not great)