Re: XL350R Tracker - Finished and For Sale!

julian5000

evening everyone. i finally got my shit together and here's my build so far. it's a 1984 XL350R, inspired by the deus mono. this is my first project, and i'm learning as a i go, so if you think i'm doing something stupid speak up.

this is how i bought it. people speak highly of this bike, saying how it's the perfect balance between the under-powered 250 and the bulky 600. they say the twin carb RFVC engine is a real gem. but god damn she's ugly out of the box:

xl350r_ 001.jpg

Here is where i am so far. i've mainly been taking bits off, and thinking about what i need to buy. i think my shopping list is pretty well sorted. i've also got most of the tools sorted:

xl350r_ 015.jpg

the only thing i don't have is a welder, so i'm not altering the frame too much. this is what i'm aiming for:

xl350r_%20014%2002.png

as i said in my intro thread, i'm a graphic / web designer so drawing that is going to be a lot easier than building it. i have a tonne of retarded questions that i'm hoping someone can help me out with as a i go along.

cheers
julian
(melbourne, australia)

Re: XL350R Tracker

this weekend i got my tank mounted and had a crack at making a fibreglass seat pan.

the tank is off a cb350 i think? the guy i bought it off wasn't sure, but it fitted with minimal modification. a little panel beating to create some clearance, and it's mounted on the original rubber stops. i've got a bolt at the back but i will probably need to make that a bit more solid.

i also made a fibreglass seat pan. i made some cardboard inserts, then laid aluminium tape. i used mold-release wax on the tape then glassed over that. i tried to glass in some mounting plugs to fit into the fittings in the frame. the plugs didn't stay in but a bit of glue and i think it will work really well.