New to DTT, and starting a '73 CB125 cafe build!

nrcb125

Been Around the Block
Hey everyone as the title suggests, I'm new to DTT and I picked up a CB125 today. The idea is to build a very basic cafe racer. As of now the plan is to clean everything really well, then make a fiberglass tail-section and put some of the finest Chinese clip-on handlebars on it. I may CNC some rearsets for it as well once I get a chance to sneak into my university's machine shop.

Are there any CB125 quirks I should look out for?

And here's a photo!
jK8Vx.jpg

Welcome to Dotheton Brother! Congratulations on your new bike, she looks like she is in really good condition!

The 125 is as simple as a four stroke can be. Great first project.

If I can suggest something though... Forget buying some shitty chinese crap parts. If you can cnc rearsets, you can make your own clip ons. Make your own parts any time you can, and if you can't keep your money local. Clip ons and many other "cafe" parts that you can buy from Asia can be whipped up from better materials by locals (or yourself) for the same or in many cases, less money.

Ok, off my soapbox now. Keep us posted on the build!

The dent in the tank is in a great spot to base knee dents off of. You can find about anything you want for that motor, but for a starting point that is a nice clean bike.

Day 1 Update:
My afternoon class was canceled and I got out of lab 2 hours early so, time to get working! The bike wasn't running when I picked it up, but did have good compression. The PO said the battery was dead. It sat in a charger while I went to work cleaning the carb and tank. The good news: there was no rust in either. The bad news: the copper fuel filter inside the petcock had started corroding leaving nasty green residue everywhere. Cleaned everything up and put everything back on. Got her started and she purrs like a kitten.