Ascot FT500 racer

ex119x

Been Around the Block
I have been racing the Honda 500 singles for years. I got my first XL500 based race bike in about 1981. I then built a series of them that I raced over the next 10 years or so. I based them either on XL or FT 500s. They both work about the same and I always just used whatever I could get cheap and mixed and matched parts and engines as needed. Then I stopped road racing for a while and when I got back into it I built a variety of other stuff, like a CB350, and XJ550 Seca, and FZ 600 and then an SV650.

So, about 5 years ago I found and FT500 listed on craigslist that had been listed for a while and then the price started dropping the longer it was listed. I went to see it and offered $400. I got this beauty.

It had the the original muffler on it when I got it but I started playing with pipes that I had around. The PO did the awesome paint job. Overspray and everything.

I decided to dig into my spare parts and set it up to ride on the street.
I ended up here with parts I had and a few from e-bay

It has superbike bars, CBR600F wheels, CB700SC shocks and a VT750C front disc. I rode it on the street for a while before I decided I needed to make it a race bike to fit in WERA Vintage 2.

Ken