1972 CL350 -- Mattel Bratz (how much can I mess up this bike?)

ceggertcrowe

Hey everyone!

I've been lurking on the forum for a while now, checking out all the awesome projects and advice as I built up the stones to start my own project. Well, the time has finally come. I just bought a 1972 CL350 in pretty good condition. It kicks right over, only 3200 miles, but definitely needs some work.

I'm not 100% sure what I want to do with it yet; but whatever I do, I want to do right. I am a mechanical engineer and industrial designer. So I know design and fabrication, but will for sure be asking a lot of questions on how to get this thing to ride a best as possible. I've been riding for about 10 years and doing all my minor maintenance, but this is my first foray into this world.

I will try to keep this as updated as possible too for any other greenhorns like me who are looking for it.

I think this weekend will be spent just tooling around on it to get a feel for the bike before I start working on it (plus I can't pass up riding a running bike). Then I guess first steps will be disassembly and and documentation.

So, without further ado, here's the bike. those pipes tho 8) 8)

Attachments

• DSC00785.JPG
    DSC00785.JPG
    318.5 KB · Views: 302
Re: 1972 CL350 -- First Time Build--Update #1 Interesting Find

So I got the bike running nice and pretty this weekend so I thought it was a good time to completely tear it apart. It came apart pretty easily, which was nice. On my way, this old girl told me a few stories. I found that it is a 68 CL350 K0, with a 72 tank and headlight, and a 71 CB350 motor. I'm betting that someone bought a wrecked 68 in the late 70s early 80s, and got it running with bits and bobs of other bikes. The last time it was registered was 85,but it fires right up and rides like a champ.