Tiki Al's DOHC Cafe Project

Tiki-Al

Well thought I'd start a build thread, ive had the DOHC for about a month now. I rode it a few times stock and the engine was solid so decided to start stripping it down to the bare essentials!

Took this snap just before I took the engine out :eek:
photo-3.jpg

This is my first build so it was pretty nerve racking but with the help of the old man we muscled the lump out!

My first port of call is going the be a big clean up.

Starting with the carbs. Looking at previous documents in its history and from when i rode it I am guessing that it once had Air filter pods and a jet mod but has since had the old airbox put back on. Like I said I'm guessing, but I think they didnt change the jets back when they put the old airbox on as it felt pretty lumpy through town at slow speeds.

Can anyone give me any info on how i access and check the jet size against standard spec?
Plenty of pics to follow as I progress!
Cheers
Al

Procedure is pretty simple.
Remove jets
Read numbers
Get workshop manual and check what it says is stock
Compare

Do you have a good shop manual yet? It's the first tool that you need to invest in.

+1 on the shop manual. Its the first thing I buy for any vehicle I purchase. those DOHC's can make for a really nice cafe IMHO. What are your plans for it(style, colors, tank/seat combo)?
Cheers and best of luck!

Thanks guys, yeah i got a Haynes Manual. It's ok but maybe i need to take a closer look at the carb section and stock settings etc it seemed quite limited on first read, it's probably me being a muppet ;D

Haynes are great but they often lack details. I'm sure there's a Factory Shop manual on line for download somewhere. That should be way more comprehensive.

Ok managed to get a better manual online. if I'm reading it right it states the main jets should be Primary:68 Secondary:102