Compression Check Oddities

A

arudeseal

1968 CL350
Hi guys,
Rode 7 miles today. Noticed my breather tube spitting some white smoke, and opened my crankcase dipstick, white smoke was coming out there as well. Oil smelled like gas slightly. So I decided to check my compression. I know I'm running rich. I'm thinking maybe unburnt fuel is leaking past my rings and into my crankcase. So, cold compression on both cylinders is 155. When I add oil to the cylinder, compression jumps way up to around 240. Should it be jumping that high? I know the oil temporarily seals the gaps from worn rings, but all the way to 240? Seems odd to me, but I've never done this check before, only read about it.
Confused,
Andrew

Holy Crap Batman! is 155 and 240 in PSI???? in 1968 the bike came with 190PSI compression.... by the way, my breather tube smokes the equivalent of 10 Cuban cigars, its supposed to 8).

240 is extremely high. 155 is not too bad for a cold compression. Not sure how it got so high with the bit of oil though, how much oil did you add?

Regarding the gas in the oil, it could be caused by the carbs overflowing for some reason (float height, stuck needle, etc.). Don't run it until you find the problem and change the oil.

Yeah, I couldn't believe the 240 psi either. I did it twice to be sure. I added a cap full of 10w 30. I feel like the cold compression is probably ok too. I will run the test again with the bike hot. The gas smell in the oil is slight, but after a long ride, I get white smoke from the crank case as well when I pull out the dip stick. Like I said, I know I'm running rich, but the bike runs well. At first I was worried that the bike was running hot and burning oil. My carbs are brand new VM30s. I will double check everything, but given the design of the floats I don't see how they could be so out of speck as to be causing gas to flow to the crank case. I'm confused.
Andrew