1979 Suzuki GS550 Rookie Brat Build

Paydan

Been Around the Block
I got an amazing deal on a damn nice Suzuki GS 550 a couple of weeks ago and have finally decided to go for a "Brat" style build instead of a more traditional cafe. I have never really known about the Brat genre but when introduced to them I instantly fell in love. Let me tell everyone right off the bat that I am no mechanic, just a guy with a semi-good idea and a Craftsman welder. I am sure that I will have plenty of questions down the road so please feel free to chime in with any and all comments. Thanks again you guys.

Attachments

• 3Gd3Fb3Ld5Q55K95F7cb27d2e0e55eb981885.jpg
    3Gd3Fb3Ld5Q55K95F7cb27d2e0e55eb981885.jpg
    60.8 KB · Views: 11,991
  • 3E33Fd3Je5G35K95Facb2e40969187c6c1e28.jpg
    3E33Fd3Je5G35K95Facb2e40969187c6c1e28.jpg
    59.7 KB · Views: 6,847
Some of my insiration.

Attachments

• motorcycle_monkee_18_2.jpg
    motorcycle_monkee_18_2.jpg
    37.7 KB · Views: 6,981
  • motorcycle_monkee_28_1.jpg
    motorcycle_monkee_28_1.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 8,079
  • mhc005_1.jpg
    mhc005_1.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 1,674
@ Danejurrous - Thanks Dane.

@Clinedesign - Nice project you got there Cline. I am interested in running a 4 into 1 exhast as well. I also see that you removed the battery and electronics. Did you relocate the wiring under the tank?

Removed the seat and rear section to get a good look at the frame. At first I was just going to shorten it and just modify the stock seat pan but I immediately scrapped that idea. Too much work to modify it so I am just going to build one from scratch.

ForSale004.jpg

ForSale001.jpg

Chop and bob time. Okay, I cheated a little bit. I was going to bent a piece of DOM tubing when I notied that the frame sliders down by the foot controls were the exact diameter that I needed and damn near the circumference. With a little bit of modification you get this.

Brat010.jpg

Brat075.jpg

Brat074.jpg

I think that it turned out pretty damn good. :)