First build '72 Honda CB500

Dustin_Auerbach

So I picked up this bike from a buddy of mine around the beginning of October.
99bb307330da3d62a1ebd0c9a154b24d.jpg

I was riding it one day and got caught in a rain storm, found a spot to wait the rain out. As I rode back to the shop the bike cut out and wouldn't start again. I knew there were a couple issues with the bike. My initial idea was to fix the wiring issues that caused the bike to cut out, ha ha.
5352f62a20f9fe3c1a87e5e3b6a30c21.jpg

I tore the bike down completely. As I began putting it back together, the ideas started flowing. A vintage bike from Japan needs to speak for itself along with the owner. My own personal life had just taken a major turn. In 2015 I graduated from college with a Bachelor of Fine Art, I was accepted to University of Alaska Fairbanks for a graduate NM program to obtain my Master of Fine Art degree, with a concentration in ceramics and painting. Things from my past decided to change all of that, and I ended back in Billings MT where I got my BFA. With a debt to pay for I got a job in my trade of mechanics, welding and metal fabrication, which is what I was doing before I went to college.

I have always been inspired by Japanese art, custom, and the way of the samurai, and more importantly the Ronin, a samurai who has lost their master. Which in many ways I feel that has happened to me.

So, how do I style this bike to speak about me, a 35 year old Texas born American who has moved around all his life, and a Japanese vintage bike? What better idea then to name the bike Ronin and add artwork that is inspired and pays tribute to Japan and the masterless samurai.
8780f27205eb13a821b606b7dfbd8d5a.jpg

08aa638c7736a80d7af229c1ecfd9017.jpg