Should I attempt an Ironhead build as a novice?

Spexx

I just finished my first ever build, which was a Suzuki Savage bobber. I kept it simple and I didn't have to do much in the way of mechanics on the engine. Turned out ok, nothing spectacular, but I like it. I'm looking for my second project and came across a good 1981 Ironhead rigid rolling chassis. It has a nice springer fork, recently chromed wheels, and some extras (sissy bar, nice handlebars and switches, and they guy is throwing in the pipes and tank) for $1,500. Seems like a good deal, but my question is whether as a novice I want to try to deal with an Ironhead. I've heard lots of bad things like:

- spend as much time wrenching as riding
- can't withstand long runs at high speed
- tend to be ridden very hard

Should I spend the $1500 now and build the ironhead or wait until I can find an EVO or big twin to chop? Am I biting off too much?

That's a personal decision depending on how much you want to and have the ability to fix. Ironheads are notoriously untrustworthy. Parts aren't terrrrrribly expensive, but personally I'd rather ride than wrench. More fun getting on the road than chasing gremlins. Unless you can find a runner for that money, my $$$ goes to an EVO.

You'll either love it and dig the experience of laying hands on it or hate it and find something else. Like coyote said, it's all up to you and your efforts how and bad you want a certain machine. Any used machine is going to need some kind of attention.

Ironheads are radness. But, if you want real reliability I hope you're ready to spend some cash. Mechanically the Ironhead motor is a dinosaur. About as simple an engine as you'll find. Really very easy to work on.