82 virago 750 "desert rat"

purp95gt

How's it going everyone I recently picked up a 82 vx750 for cheap. I plan on doing a cafe build on somewhat of a budget. I'll be posting pictures of my project along the way.

I'm currently in the army but I was a ford certified master tech for 6 years prior. So I have the skills to do this but I am definitely looking for advice and help along the way.

So I picked up the bike already taken apart but with a good title and all the parts in boxes. Was sitting in the desert covered in dirt for what looks like the last 10 years. My first issue in have come across is the lack of new parts for rebuilding this engine. So far I have found 1 rusted cyl (already ordered used replacement jug and piston on eBay). I want to hone the cyls enough to take the glaze off and new rings on the pistons(given the cyls are within spec ). I can't find new rings anywhere. What do you guys do when you can't find new parts? I'm thinking run a ball hone through the cyls and clean up the rings and check the tolerances and just hope.
End goal.
9303fbd1f8f68cb613c5a5fd5b9a530a.jpg

Re: Xv750 build and advice

Sorry you are not getting any advice on your questions. Have you tried aftermarket piston companies, like Wiseco?

Well my cyl to piston clearance is on the high end. I ended up finding some nos Yamaha .050 pistons and rings. Just going to bore them out that way everything is fresh.

partsfish.com has them listed. What seems to be the problem you are having getting the parts?

http://www.partsfish.com/oemparts/a/yam/5004223cf8700209bc78758a/crankshaft-piston

I ended up getting .050 over pistons and rings from parts pak . had really good price

I'm now on the lookout for a 2006-2011 gsxr front end.

I'll be taking the rest of the bike apart this weekend cleaning up and painting parts.

Got my new used case to swap all my parts into since mine has a broken ear inside someone tried Jb weld on.
a0353377556828fc35c6970300d0ae96.jpg