Dollin' Up a '81 SR250 on a Peanuts Budget

deven07

I'm a amateur wrencher, just got a '81 Yamaha SR250 given to me. I wasn't sure what it was when I first got it, so I did some googling and ended up here! What inspiration! I decided that while I do not have the resources or skill to do a full on "build" yet, I could definitely take some cues from the major amount of coolness going on at Do The Ton and doll up my new project. Here's how she rolled off the truck minus the cobwebs and debris...the ratted out seat is around somewhere...

0512152305.jpg

No tank! I was having a really hard time finding an actual SR250 tank, so I ordered something that I hoped would be close...in the meantime, I'm going to mess with that big clunky seat. I cut off the tabs on the frame where the seat latch went as well as other unnecessary mount spots and fixtures, cut the seat plastic down , then played sculptor on the foam:

0515152325.jpg

Tank Came! Its too big. I had a idea it would be, it's off a '83 XV750 Midnight Special. Too wide for the frame, and about a 1/2" too long. I had to extend the posts where the tank tabs ride on with a cut down 5/8" lag bolt, some hex nuts and Gorilla tape. Remember, peanuts budget! :D I also have the back of the tank propped up with a block of 2x4. Seat needed to be shortened, $9 worth of Joanne Fabrics, some braided 20lb test line and BAM I got a mockup! I'm not thrilled about how the tank butts up to the seat, but it's gonna have to do until I come across a cooler one:

SR250.jpg

I have some straight bars coming, unfortunately not till after the holiday weekend. But she's looking cute for not much work or money! Tonight I'm going to work on getting everything secured and see about firing her up for the first time. Woohoo! Thanks for looking, have a great holiday weekend, and to all you Vets...thank you for your service!