The "Bum" GB400tt build.

mokie

Acting foolishly since '88
Right, well up until last week I was an aircraft engineer but seeing as how I told my boss where he can shove his shitbox job I have become a man of leisure, which is not all it's cracked up to be. At any rate, I am heading overseas in about 3 months and I got paid out enough to live on until I go and have some coin left over. Since I am too lazy to get another job if I don't need one I decided to spend the time and leftover notes on the '88 GB400tt I have had sitting round up to f-all for the last few months. I love these wee singles they handle great and man, that tank!

Hopefully I can keep her within budget and not end up having to leave her unfinished or dip into the funds I have saved for the trip. I will have to cut back on beer consumption. At any rate I started the disassembly today and have some pics If you lot are interested.

This is her as I bought her. A few bumps and bruises here and there but mostly sweet as.
RJpV3.jpg

Most of the ally is covered in philiform corrosion like this
gSRkb.jpg

The GB400 is a single with a dry sump. Basically the same engine as an XL600.
AG1Pn.jpg

Tank and seat off. Those stupid passenger peg rearsets and chain guard will be the first to go.
7nOw4.jpg

I was going to use the original exhaust, I kinda liked it but didn't realise it had this thing. This is the first bike I have ever worked on so I assume its a catalytic converter, we don't have those things on airplanes so I am kinda clueless.
xoGSr.jpg

Got the easy shit off, the airbox can't come out until the engine and oil tank come out. Don't have time for that today so it's gonna have to wait till next week when I have some time to get onto it properly. Stuck the tank back on to see how she looked with and without the side covers. Not sure if I'll keep em or not yet.
c5XKW.jpg

FV9lG.jpg

The plan is (in no particular order):
-Get the engine out and clean up the corrosion/polish