80HWK - 80 CB400 Hawk Build

SimJen

Ducatisti
My names Simon from New Zealand, I'm 37.
This is a bit of a retrospective build log at the mo, up to the point I am currently at, then I'll be updating as I do it!
I have had a few bikes over the years from a rare Honda NSR250SP with mods to my last bike which was a modified Suzuki K5 GSXR1000. Currently I run a 2001 Ducati 996 which I try to ride as much as possible.
I work in the Steelfab industry so have a few contacts which will help a bit I'm sure during the build.

I purchased a cheap and old 80' CB400 Twin a little while ago with the purpose of turning it into something special.
Ideally a cafe type project, but as the project has progressed and due to the frame on these bikes I have taken a little detour and now building a bobber/brat type thing!

How it was as bought for $1000 NZD with a genuine 44,000km on the clock!
It even came with a personalised plate which is rare for the era of: 80HWK awesome.
193016540_full.jpg

193016311_full.jpg

Started the stripdown:
DSC_8367.JPG

Cut the frame back at the rear, removed the airbox and started cleaning the motor.
I'll be powder-coating the motor covers and painting the remainder of the motor.

Engine covers powdercoated in satin black
DSC_8512.JPG

DSC_8513.jpg

Came up pretty good, Powder coating cost me $30NZD through a company I deal with

Managed to find a 70's CB360 tank to bolt right on, not a fan of the 80's look of the original. Tank is in very good condition inside and out, just have to fill in the badge areas as I want to stick a vinyl type tank badge on.
DSC_8524.jpg

Also made up a seat base from 3mm galv. sheet. It will be bolted down and then I'll build some ply on top to match the shape followed by foam and distressed black leather for the seat itself
DSC_8526.JPG

Need to cut down the aluminium footpeg bits as I find them a little on the ugly side!

Seat will be lower once I change tank bracket etc.
DSC_8523.JPG