Kz440 Ltd from Munich Germany

migs

Hi Folks,
i wanted to introduce me and my Kawasaki z440. My Name is Michael, i am 44 Years old and live in Munich. I work as a Hairdresser and my hobbies are photography and fiddling around with things that have an engine inside.
in 2013 i felt the need to get back on a Motorbike after nearly 20 Years and so i bought a china-clone from a Suzuki Van-Van. In Europe it is sold under the Name "Skyteam- Raptor" It was a fun lttle Bike but after a while i got quite annoyed with the poor Quality . I needed to change the clutch after only 1500km . The Front-Brake made weird noise and the fork was wobbly and so i decided to get rid of that thing in 2014
A few Month ago my Dad called me and asked if i would like to have is old Kawasaki z440 ltd. I said : " Tahnks but no thanks, this bike is f***ing ugly, its hideous" But then i thought about it for a while and decided to give it a try. I never did a restoration on a "real" motorbike before, only small scooters .
I started reading german Cafe-Racer Newsgroups and learned that a Cafe-Racer was not an Option because of the Frame. So i went for a more classic-look. I drove to me dads house 600km in the north of germany and dissasembled the Bike there, put everything in the Boot/trunk and went back to munich.
I sanded everything down (Fork/Rims) , then polished it. I cut a piece out of the frame and then painted it, i overhauled the engine, Valves etc.. I started on the 1st of May and finished on the 1st of August
I really like the result! I hope you do too!

cheers

Michael

Attachments

• IMG_0460.jpg
    IMG_0460.jpg
    3.6 MB · Views: 299
  • IMG_0461.jpg
    IMG_0461.jpg
    593.9 KB · Views: 271
  • IMG_0488.jpg
    IMG_0488.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 283
  • IMG_0518.jpg
    IMG_0518.jpg
    2.8 MB · Views: 281
  • IMG_0519.jpg
    IMG_0519.jpg
    4.3 MB · Views: 271
  • IMG_0636.jpg
    IMG_0636.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 285
  • IMG_0664.jpg
    IMG_0664.jpg
    3.8 MB · Views: 308