Replacing gaskets behind points and tach housings

A

arudeseal

Hey guys,
I am new to DTT, I have two questions, and I apologize if this has been covered already, but if it has I couldn't find it.

1968 CL350, stock everything except short, handlebars, lights, rectifier, and seat.

1st. I have replaced the oil seal in the points housing, but there is still oil leaking down onto my spark plug. Is it possible to replace the gasket behind the points housing without pulling the engine? If so, is it a pretty straight forward process (remove the screws, pull the housing, replace the gasket, put the housing, points plate, back together?) Just want to know what I am getting myself into. I am trying to do everything correctly, and not half-ass, and the oil leak, though its nothing crazy, really drives me crazy.

2nd. I have ordered several different kinds of o-rings, even honda 0-rings for the oil filter cap, but they all seem to be way too thick to get the cap pushed back in enough to put the circlip back in. I am using the puller bolt as well as a rubber hammer to get the cap pushed back as far as possible, but it is still impossible to get the circlip into the groove it belongs in. Is there a good place to order the proper o-ring? Am I missing something?

Thanks in advance!
Andrew

I have the same problem with the oil leak onto the spark plugs. Yes there is a gasket back there that you can replace. here is a schematic for it. its labeled as #4: http://www.bikebandit.com/houseofmotorcycles/1972-honda-cl350k4-cylinder-head-side-cover-points-advancer/o/m9205sch396426