'78 CB750F Engine Rebuild

xxthegonzxx

1978 CB750F-Coming along nicely!
So after many months of tinkering I finally started my engine rebuild. The reason for the rebuild was the low oil pressure I was getting which many said it was due to crank bearings. I also wanted to get my hands dirty and start learning by doing. By the way, I am no motorcycle mechanic by any means and I don't know jack about engines, but I have the Clymers manual and a big community of MC gurus online that have helped.

Attachments

• photo-37.JPG
    photo-37.JPG
    104.2 KB · Views: 377
Here's the valve cover off. Not sure what this is but it looks like there's markings on the inside of the head. You can barely see it but it says loct 1-1b or maby locx 1-1b? I dunno.

Attachments

• photo-36.JPG
    photo-36.JPG
    78 KB · Views: 357
  • photo-35.JPG
    photo-35.JPG
    80.8 KB · Views: 372
  • photo-34.JPG
    photo-34.JPG
    63.9 KB · Views: 366
top end is off and now you can see the black heads from carbon build up on the cylinders.

Attachments

• photo-33.JPG
    photo-33.JPG
    66.6 KB · Views: 375
Broke off the fin from the bottom corner trying to get this SOB off. It was so difficult to get the cylinder block piece off i had to use a very small screwdriver and gently tap all around to get it to come off. Stupid newbie mistake but I got it off, so problem solved.

Attachments

• photo-32.JPG
    photo-32.JPG
    75.8 KB · Views: 422
  • photo-31.JPG
    photo-31.JPG
    130.8 KB · Views: 448
Can anyone suggests a good way to clean the cylinder heads? I'm assuming I can go to NAPA/Autozone/Pep Boys and just buy some sort of degreaser or maybe carb cleaner will do the trick?
Also, you can see that some of those long bolts are dirty and rusty as hell. No wonder the cylinder block wouldn't budge.

Attachments

• photo-28.JPG
    photo-28.JPG
    71.9 KB · Views: 469
  • photo-29.JPG
    photo-29.JPG
    72.9 KB · Views: 467
  • photo-30.JPG
    photo-30.JPG
    76 KB · Views: 443