'80 kz 550 - half finished? suggestions?

johnnyeatsgood

Hey all!

So I have myself a 1980 kz 550 on my hands. It's my first build and has been through quite a bit. It has been repainted since it's stock days, completely rat biked out (spray painted black, chopped) and then hand sanded down for that raw industrial metal look. And that was all done by me!! who know's what the other owners did....

This is what I have so far and am not overly happy with it. Couldnt figure out the colours that I wanted so I left it raw looking for now. As for future major plans, here's what I'm thinking:

- sportbike Monoshock swingarm w/ street rim
- spoked dirtbike tire on front
- street fighter tail-esque sort of dealio
and perhaps running a magneto. ANybody give me a place to start for this? My knowledge around magnetos is slim but it sounds like a sweet concept anyways.

Im currently a very broke university student up in the great white north. definitely finding it hard to find a place to work on your stuff when youre always moving and never having garage space!

THanks for lookin yall.

DSC_0001.jpg

I know what a mag. is.
Just curious as to what "magneto" he will be using since I did not see an ARD belt drive on the bike of which I don't remember if one was made for the KZ550.
Are there any other magnetos for the app. or will it be custom built or the capacitor to replace the battery?

What a beautiful and majestic beast.. I love that thing, Jeff!

I still think we need to lower the forks by an inch or two to level things out.

As far as the magneto/capacitor/smaller battery goes, i don't think it can happen unless you can figure out a way to put a kickstart on it - or if we always resort to push-starts (which i'm not opposed to!).

scaled.php

Here's a quick and dirty photoshop of the ideas for paint you were talking about (kind of 3 different ideas in one shoddy pic). My vote goes for the front wheel - red spokes with the chrome lip.