Yamaha Vision 550

balek

1974 Honda CB450T
One of my buddies found a 'free' bike and I have decided to help him restore it. I'll likely be asking a bunch of questions as I'm still rather new to all this and she is a bit different from my CB450k7, but it will be awesome to have another friend up on two. Here she is as of yesterday:

She's in a lot better shape than we thought she was as she has been 'under a tarp' for 9 years. That being said, she is nowhere close to running.

First major portion of the project is going to be taking the tank off, cleaning and testing for integrity. The previous owner included a pack of Kreem cleaners and conditioners, but they are from 2003. Anyone know if they go bad over time?

More to come as we pull her apart.

God that thing is hidious, but I can see that as a positive. Strip off the ugly bits and make it special... \

I say ditch the tank straight off the bat. Its ugly and god hates it. Second *shrugs*, third- great profit!

Yeah. It is definitely not a pretty bike. I think replacing the tank might be a good first step really. The frame is set up strangely, so it is going to be a pain to straighten her out. I think we might make her into a bobber of sorts though.

I don't think the square headlight and square turn signals are helping it in the looks dept either. Should be fun turning it into something more appealing though :)

I think thats the engine some of the dirttrackers were using on mile tracks a few years back. I saw one at the Syrasuse Mile about five years ago.

I wouldn't ditch the tank at all, I think with the right paint job it could look very nice. Especially if you can find a nice round headlight. I'd make a nice chin spoiler for it to complement the tank and it would really change its looks. Don't run away from the 80's styling, just work with it. Should be a fun project.