1976 TS 185 Scrambler/ Tracker/ Vintage Grom

ahawley

Hey guys-

So I bought this bike at the end of last summer and started a build thread. School started right after that and I went to boarding school, so I obviously had no capacity to work on the bike. Anyways I have now graduated, and my boredom, combined with some generous graduation presents, have got me ready for a restart on the project. Next year I am heading down from New England to Rice University in Texas. I play hockey so I'd love to have a fun way to get to the ice rink which is a short drive away. I would get something like a Grom, but this is a way more fun learning experience. Anyways, although this is my first build, I would love to do this build in ~3 months with no more than $1700.

Here is a photo of the bike as it sits:
643d7abc25f110a2101065ce6342958e.jpg

Currently the only problems are an oil leak, a clogged carb (the bike needs to be bump started to run without the choke), and an absolute massacre of a wiring harness. I got a new gasket for the engine, so hopefully that will fix the leak, and, even as a beginner, I have rebuilt carbs before, so that shouldn't be a problem. The wiring I am planning to completely redo. I know this will be a lot of work, but I think it will be the best moving forward.

Other things I am planning:
New bars and controls - on the way
Shortened tail and new brat type seat
19" front wheel instead of 21" - on the way
New two stroke expansion chamber - what I am most worried about
New larger tank for larger fuel capacity because I seem to get terrible economy - on the way?
Clean, polish, powdercoat, paint, etc

Here is my sketch of what I was thinking:
ac5d0d010cc29faffb86963144cbb5f1.jpg

I have a Beamer tank like this that I got cheap off eBay on the way. I'll update on that situation when it arrives. For now I am just going to try to fix the carb and the oil leak.

I am very excited for this project and look forward to talking with you all along the way.