Build of a Honda CB125S (DIY Digital tachometer)

ManuR

Hey

I have just bought an old Honda CB125S (1974 i think).
i know that maybe a bike like this is maybe to "small" to make a cafe racer from,
but its my first time i do something like this an i want it to be possible.

as u see on the pictures i have to take it completely apart and paint it.
then restore the engine. and i am going to re do all the electrical wiring.

1327999753.jpg

but the first thing i have to find is an contact switch for the bike and the gas thank.
of course i only want one key for, any idea's on where i can find that.

Re: Build of a Honda CB125S

Good to see another CB125S! The '74s had a mechanical front disc brake. There should be a plate on the steering stem with the year on it to be sure. What do you plan on doing to it?

I'm watching.

I have a 72 CB100, I'm working on, so maybe, I'll be able to give some insight.

I have looked on the frame and the engine, the numbers are different.
frame: 1151553 (CB 125 S)
engine: 1179017 (CB 125 SE)
and on the exhaust there is written: hmcb125S

so i don't really know from what year it is :p.

I was planning to completely sandblast everything, and paint it again. (don't know the collor yet)
an completely renew the electrics.
and give the engine a complete overhaul.

Now i have it at home, here are some additional pictures:
sany0082w.jpg

sany0075a.jpg

sany0074l.jpg

sany0073l.jpg

sany0071a.jpg

It looks like a '73 to me based on the external spring forks, the gas tank cap being offset to the right, and the lack of a tachometer.

When you renew the electrics are you going to switch it from a 6V to 12V system?

Looks like an awesome start man!

So Yeah

it has been a long time :-*

i haven't done allot, but easy does it.
i was sanding down the tank and i noticed that it went so slow and it would cost me a fortune on sandpaper,
that i thought, lets just make a sandblaster.
so that's what i have been doing now.