Project Cheap Racer...

What color should i go with on the tank and side plates?

• Brushed Finish

Votes: 1 33.3%
  • Dark Brown

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Light Caramel Brown

Votes: 2 66.7%

• Total voters

kookie31

i built it, therefore its mine...
I have this build posted on another site but wanted to show this around cuz Im very proud of my lil creation and the progress I have made in a month. This is my very first build on my very first bike. Its my take on a cafe racer but as seeing funds are limited (like most builds in the real world) I reused a lot of the original parts or picked up some very cheap parts from the store. I found this 83 Yamaha Seca 750 on craigslist and dealed it down to $500. So far Im at about $100 into it.

Here it is the night I brought it home
P1013878.jpg

P1013879.jpg

Then the next day I got her tore down, flipped and reversed the bars, removed the exhaust and cleaned her up and sprayed everything a satin black and the tank caramel latte
P1013893.jpg

P1013894.jpg

I picked up a new headlight and tail light and tried to make a fiberglass seat
P1013907.jpg

P1013908.jpg

I ditched the fiberglass seat and made a metal one (turn out much better). Added some LED tail/ brake lights and painted it to match the tank
Image12302010122435-1.jpg

Image01032011204516.jpg

Here she is as of today
Image01042011075716.jpg

Image01042011075745.jpg

A few things not mentioned: I made a completely new wire harness (to get rid of a lot of unneeded wires, new speedo, new mirror, new and updated fuse box, LED turn signals and new grips.

Almost done with the bike. Still need to get some material for the seat and tidy up the wiring for the rear end.

Im loving how this is turning out and would love to here what you guys think about it

Re: Project Cheap Racer

Cool man. Glad to hear youre having fun with it. Thats what its all bout. Thanks for sharing, and keep the updates coming!