'69 CB250 Tracker

Wizzer

So this is the starting point....

and here's the engine...

and here...

I can design. I can fab basic stuff. I have friends who can weld and friends who can paint. What I CAN'T do is put an engine back together with any degree of confidence. What I DON'T have is a mechanic friend. Who can spot the problem in this scenario?
Little help here fellas?

I'm reorganising the bedroom to get a workbench in. I'm a single dad so when the munchkin has gone to sleep I can give a couple of hours a night to this. But where to start and how? These are my issues right now...

What I want to end up with is a very clean but fairly basic tracker style looking bike. So.... lets go!!!

I can't be much help but I can sympathise. The amount of times I have found myself neck deep in the proverbial with no clue where to even start, yet somehow I've been working on the same bike for 3 months.

Ill be watching!

That looks like a 70s CB360. I dont think Honda made a 69 CB250. Either way it looks like a fun project. There are a million + 360 motors out there. An easier place to start would be to find a complete motor still together and use that motor in the bike. Then learn on the motor you have now and build it up. I always like to have a spare motor for my bike. Anyways, just a thought. Good luck with the project and enjoy the process. ;D

CB250 switched to left side drive and a full frame in 1968 or so via a quick google search. I know the older versions were a stressed member frame and right side drive chain...

You can get a print or online manual for that later series of 250 pretty easily. It's not as complicated as it looks, just take your time, be patient... kind of like riding it when it is all back in order, it IS a 250 after all... ;)

Parts are pretty easy to get as well, even the dealership can still get some stuff in. http://www.cmsnl.com/honda_model8286/ is probably the closest you'll find to "one stop shopping" for it.

Happy tinkering!