Acewell 2853 setup

thwrightstuff

"Trust me, I'm an engineer"
I have a number of questions on setting up n Acewell 2853. The installation went pretty smoothly, but now I'm trying to customize it for my bike. I can't seem to find anything useful either by searching forums or by contacting Acewell directly.

Speedo issues: No matter what, my speedo doesn't give me a proper readout. I've tried all of the suggested sizes in the manual, but none work. Even the 15inch wheel size nearly doubles my actual speed, this doesn't make any sense. This is the speedometer cable I am using: http://www.dimecitycycles.com/acewell-2853-digital-speedometer-cable-for-honda-cb-cl-and-yamaha-motorcycles.html

Tachometer: I'm using the yellow induction wire that came with the set. No matter how many or how few wraps around the spark wire I make, it always seems jumpy. It runs best with 1 full wrap around, but it still jumps around and when I rev up, it tells me 0 rpms. There must be a proper way to get my rpms on this unit, anybody have any ideas? Which rpm setting should I use for my bike: 80 CB650C. The options seem so illogical to me.

Random settings: Scrolling through the setup menu in the unit can get slightly confusing. After you set the circumference, there's an option that says "P-001". What does this mean? The manual doesn't say anything about this. I don't have, nor care to, wire up the fuel gauge on this unit. Is there a way to make the fuel gauge not blink constantly on the empty? It's a little annoying and I'd rather it just not say anything at all.

For the tach, I suldered the wire to the yellow or blue wire that goes to the coil with a 1k resistor in between. Works perfect.

Not familiar with your bike. What's the size of the front rim?

I left the fuel gauge wire and my light does not blink