'71 Honda CB350t cafe-inspired build

krafty

Dyslexics of the World - Untie!
Now that this bike is officially mine (long story, but let's just say that it's no longer super-easy to get a title for a motorcycle in Michigan when the previous owner lost it and doesn't want the hassle of finding it) it is time to start a build thread. Sorry in advance for the length of this first post.

I have been looking into motorcycles for a while now - probably the past 10 years or so - on an infrequent basis. When a co-worker rescued an '83 750 from a relative and started working on it I finally decided to bite the bullet and look for something myself. I have plenty of experience with vintage British cars (MG, Jaguar, Triumph, TVR, Healey, etc.) but most of the cool British stuff was out of my price range, at least around here. After spending some time reading I settled on wanting a Honda twin from the late '60s through the '70s, with leanings towards the 350 or 400. I've always wanted a vehicle as old as I am and came close with my '73 MGB/GT.

This bike had been popping up on the mid-Michigan CL off-and-on for a while now, so on a whim I drove the 2hrs on a Saturday morning last month and ended up bringing it home. It's a '71 Honda CB350 with (for whatever reason) a '71 CL350 engine installed. It wouldn't start but spun over and had great compression and was fairly complete. It's got some goofy home-made ape-hangars on it and is missing a side cover and the speedo cable, but otherwise it is complete.