Welding Gas Tanks

2_DONE_THE_TON

Over 1,000 Posts
DTT BOTM WINNER
Hey guys!

So I´m a total noob to welding and my aim is to be able to weld (mainly cutting pieces out of tanks and strecthing or narrowing steel gas tanks) gas tanks.
What is the proper method for welding gas tanks?

I already have a inert gas welding machine in my shop, which I didnt activate yet...but I heard that these are not fit to weld so thin steel parts...

Hope you can point me in the right direction!

Thanks!

You cant do that without 10 000 hours practice or 1000 kgs of plastic padding ryan
Best method for welding tanks is either tig or oxy-acetylene, and practice is the only way here, with good teachers. I have been welding professionally for over ten years, and i always get the joyful task of sealing up novices leaky tanks.

Just watched a video of a guy narrowing a tank and it was AMAZING how much knowledge goes into it...wow...so I guess I have to stick to my stock tanks or dinging other tanks and trying to make them fit.. :D

Ryan Stecken said:
Just watched a video of a guy narrowing a tank and it was AMAZING how much knowledge goes into it...wow...so I guess I have to stick to my stock tanks or dinging other tanks and trying to make them fit.. :D
Hell no, if you want to have a go, just use some scrap metal to begin with, then start making cubes to pressure test with said scrap pieces, then try to repair the leaks, then ask me or other welders how to make it 100% air tight, then try stretching and welding on a few scrap moped tanks or whatever, then ask for more help with whatever problems you encounter, then in a few years, you will be able to make amazing shit without bondo or jb weld! Its like life before and after finding out the secrets of steel man.

datadavid said: