'73 CB 450 K7 - Cafe racer made in Finland

chheikki

So I bought a Honda CB 450 K7 -73. The bike has 3000 claimed miles on it and is in quite good condition, it still has the original tires on (or so I was told). I bought it from a finnish dealer that had imported it from Michigan, USA in 2010. The bike has a tracy body kit on it so it has already been modified, good for a cafe racer project. Engine seemed to work fine and when I test drove it power seemed to be good. Maybe out of adjustment because it doesn't idle really easy and turns off after a while. Hopefully I made a good buy.

I have driven motorcycles for the last 10 years and at the moment I also have a Ducati 999. Also I am quite familiar with repairing bikes and cars so I think I will manage to complete this project. My only obstacle is time. Because I am studying in a different city where the bike is, so I only have time to work on the bike on weekends for now.

Had time to order some parts. After long consideration between the BCR Whale and Dolphin combo I decided to go for the Dolphin tank and seat combo, despite the fact that so many others also have them. But probably wont see too many of them here in Finland :)

I will post more photos as the project goes further. Plans are to remove at least the tank/seat, air cleaners and start to relocate the battery. I decided that I will do all the wiring, electrics and fitting of the tank/seat first and then totally strip the bike and get it blasted and powder coated.

japsirauta1.jpg

japsirauta2.jpg

japsirauta3.jpg