1980 Honda CB750K Bratish first build

JTM88

I'll start out by saying that this is my first build, I guess the title gave that away ;D. I've been wanting to build up a classic bike for the past 10 years, but living in an apartment made that kind of difficult. Fortunately my wife and I where able to purchase our first house this year, and once we got settled in it was time for a project.

Week 1
So after messaging a few people on CL and not getting any responses back I finally found a guy selling a 1980 CB750K that was in pieces. At first I wasn't sure about buy a motorcycle puzzle but then I realized had had basically done the first half project just in getting it taken apart!
qWpdfzq.jpg

LoF2iu9.jpg

w6OguTt.jpg

The first thing I did was to start mocking everything up.
IFrZTEx.jpg

1kiaZcb.jpg

At this point I decided to go with super bike bars, originally I wanted to build a cafe racer, but after having sport bike I just didn't want to do clip ons again. I think the low bars and CB750F rear sets give it a sporty enough feel.

I went with bar end mirrors with integrated turn signals, I wanted to keep a minimalist theme as much as possible. I also bought some "brown" grips off of eBay, brown must mean something different over there (they are getting replaced soon)
7Kl9YL9.jpg

Week 2
Nest step was to strip the paint off the tank. At first I trained aircraft stripper, but all it did was make a mess. So after getting fed up with it I went to town on it with a wire wheel. This took care of the paint in no time. Also I can't believe how thick the paint is on these tanks.
odFmD4u.jpg

During the same weekend I also made some custom bolts out of 303 stainless for the swingarm and engine mount. I could not find the factory bolts for these rear sets anywhere. Plus I think these look cooler.
6kZnBjl.jpg