From the ground up: Suzuki SP370

miob

Been Around the Block
DTT BOTM WINNER
I've already build a few bikes. The lates t(finished) one is my BMW caferacer:

IMG_1355.JPG

I really love that bike. It's brutal to ride, but it's also not build to be in bad weather with the velocitystacks and all. Besides, I really wanted to continue building after finishing the Beamer. The problem is: I'm a student, so I'm always broke :D. I build the BMW out of the money I had gotten from selling some stuff, but didn't really have money for a new project. After some asking around someone offered me a Suzuki SP370, or better: some parts of a Suzuki SP370. It was just too tempting, so:

img2816z.jpg

That's the stack of parts in my garden.

Started of by making a rear and and fitting a tank:

img6939k.jpg

Turned old CX500 bars I already had into new bars and made a headlightbracket for a headlight I had aswell:

img6950s.jpg

img2888u.jpg

Started on the exhaust and fitted a revcounter:

img2909.jpg

Bought a wheel on Ebay.de (Germany) and made an airscoop:

IMG_3087.JPG

Than decided I didn't like the rear/seat area, so I changed it:

img7041x.jpg

img3126j.jpg

img3131bt.jpg

img3135b.jpg

And that's where I'm at now. Still plenty to do obviously, so plenty advice left for you guys to give me :D

Man, you weren't kidding when you said from the ground up! This thing is gonna look amazing - keep up the good work. And nice Beemer too!

Love SP370's, bit underpowered but what a fun motor.
The stock ones will wheelie until you loose taillight and still come back down onto wheels ;D. ( probably well past vertical?)
If you ever have to go inside top end, there was a service bulletin warning about thin casting on cam chain side, people would pry on it and destroy cylinder.

PJ

Thanx for the advice.

Did some more work on the rear today and started making the tank longer. The tank in the photo is not in the position it will be in the end by the way:

img3150u.jpg