Tire Changing for novices

baconpocket

eating bacon
34165_780881275725_22401740_44505285_6886053_n.jpg

so i got a flat earlier this week, and the journey begins. I'm posting this to encourage anyone who might be afraid to try this (like I was).
first, i am an unashamed novice and that usually ends up with me getting in way over my head. in this case i didn't even know whether i had tube or tubeless tires. after searching all over the web i found out that although the microfiche looks identical for 1979-81 cm400t, in 81 they switched to tubeless. first battle won, i can start tire shopping.
the local shop wants about 200 to mount and balance a new tire for me. not gonna happen...if i can help it. i can order a set of shinko's from motorcycle superstore for 100 shipped.
BUT
can i do it.
Wednesday night. its 96F and like 100% humidity in the garage, but i manage to wrestle the rear axle out and have a few beers.
Thursday. watch youtube videos in my spare time at work about how to use tire removal tools (theres a good video series in the HOW-to vid section in this forum) but then i decide i'm too cheap to buy any of them and figure I can do it anyway.
i started by grabbing a twobyfour i had laying around and and putting it on top of a scrap piece of wood to break the bead.
34165_780881235805_22401740_44505277_8157234_n.jpg

i used the jacking point on my car as leverage.
It Worked!
34165_780881240795_22401740_44505278_2353006_n.jpg

i started spooning the tire off using a large lug wrench, two screw drivers and a cutup plastic juice bottle to protect the rim, windex to lubricate the tire, and plenty of beer
34165_780881250775_22401740_44505280_6029882_n.jpg

i worked my way around, then switched to the other side.
finally done!
34165_780881255765_22401740_44505281_7960608_n.jpg

and found the culprit
34165_780881260755_22401740_44505282_4215614_n.jpg

i'll update this post when the new tires come in the mail!

Ain't it fun!