NOVEMBER 2010 BIKE OF THE MONTH - WINNER!

Tim

Administrator
Staff member
Congrats to cb550fcafe and his CB450 in winning November's BOTM contest! It was another awesome lineup of bikes this month - looking forward to our contest this month for the last BOTM for 2010!

Here's the writeup and pics - enjoy!

-----------------------------------------

I'm the new guy here and I have to say its an honor to be included with the great bikes here. Its cool to have a place to fit in. I am not a professional builder or a rich person. I work in an automotive garage for my day job. Nights and weekends are spent working on bikes or riding bikes. I build as much as I can myself. The CB450 is the third bike for me, its the culmination of 1.5 years of hard work, scraping together nickles & dimes and salvaging old parts. Here is my build thread. http://www.dotheton.com/forum/index.php?topic=19329.0 I didn't do alot of pictures beacuse I work very messy and its a little embarrassing. My bike lift was a plastic parts tote until I could mount the center stand. I ride with the CT Rockers. My friend owns a powder coat shop, competitive edge coatings so I swapped a few car reapirs and he did my powder work. My bikes cost me more in back labor than money since cash is hard to find.
Details,
Rebuilt engine +3 overbore, head work & porting by me, new gaskets/seals, cam chain, cam bearings, new shift shaft, carbs redone with eastwood carb renew and polished bowls, domes, all engine parts polished by me with $60 Harbor Freight buffer 100 hours at least, aluminum motor mounts from a 70CL450
Hondaman ignition, new wiring throughout, LEDS for neutral & hi beam, Led turn sigs mounted inside headlight bolts, NOS hand controls with kill delete and silver color.
All electrics moved behind seat.
BCR pea shooter exhaust made to fit my chassis.
BCR Hammer Head tank & seat
Buchanan spoked the wheels
Homemade rear sets
1970 CL450 front drum brake
3" extended swing arm
CB900f shocks